Blog tours, Breaking Ground, Määratlemata, selfish sewing

Breaking Ground – Love Notions Margot peplum

I was so excited when I chose my next project, I had always dreamed about beautifully fitting peplum (I have never owned one!) and because of that chose my longsitting pattern Love Notions Margot peplum. This project was fail. At first – I messed up with my differential so I got lettuce hems (And my sewing machine needs to be serviced so I can’t fix it now.. ). Next thing, it had extremely wide sleeves! I took in 3cm total from each sleeve and they were still wide! Next time I’ll definitely take them in before sewing it together… I chose the easiest version for my peplum (swing skirt), but now feel that I maybe should have chosen pleated skirt. I would have loved long sleeves, but I was tight with fabric. And then I managed to screw up my neckband.
Pattern: Love Notions Margot peplum (Afflink)
Fabric: Stenzo black CL (95%/5%) 220gsm
Price paid: fabric – 16€/m pattern – 5.37$ (bought during sale)

I think that with this pattern it might have been easily my error of sewing.. And fabric choice.. If you have any ideas how I could avoid being so frustrated next time let me know 😉
Feel free to enjoy my latest sewing failure! 😀

Peplum 1

peplum 2.jpgpeplum 3.jpg

Now make sure to check everybody else too that blogged today!
Rainy Day Sewing, Anne-Mari Sews, Sprouting Jube Jube, Sewing A La Carte, Tales of a Tester

13 thoughts on “Breaking Ground – Love Notions Margot peplum”

  1. So sorry to read the make isn’t perfect in your eyes. If I wouldn’t have read your post I thought it looks just fine and suits and fits you well. The color is great and perhaps if you fix some of the things you don’t like you probably love to wear it.

    Like

    1. Yes, I am pretty sure about it! Next time I’ll at least know what to change 🙂 This is exactly why you should muslin 😀 Luckily the fabric wasn’t super special and I’ll still wear it at home 🙂

      Like

  2. I think it looks cute – but some of those fabrics can be really frustrating to work with. There’s a raglan I made my little gal – and I like it pretty well, she LOVES it. All I see when I look at it though, is the headache it was to sew it! LOL

    Like

  3. I think you have a really good starting point for making another version that you will love. I think the most important part is where the peplum starts on your frame so you look well balanced and it looks really good to me.

    Like

Lisa kommentaar

